Network Security

U.S. representatives form payment technology caucus


A bipartisan caucus, comprised of members of the U.S. House of Representatives, has been formed to investigate payment technologies.

Representatives David Scott (D-Ga.) Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Lynn Westmoreland (R-Ga.) and Randy Neugebauer (R-Texas) have formed the Congressional Payments Technology Caucus (CPTC). The purpose of the committee will be to explore the new and innovative technologies in the payments industry as well as answer questions about data security, access to electronic payments and more, according to a release by Westmoreland's office.

The CPTC brings members from both parties together to highlight the importance of developing new payment technologies and protecting consumer privacy and security,“ Rep. Sinema said in the release.

Each of the founding members also serves on the House Financial Services Committee. The Electronic Transactions Association (ETA), a consumer payment technology advocacy group has already endorsed the CPTC.

Get daily email updates

SC Media's daily must-read of the most current and pressing daily news

By clicking the Subscribe button below, you agree to SC Media Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.