Best professional certification

Winner: ISACA for Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

The CISA (Certified Information Systems Auditor) certification supports the education and strengthening of IT security pros' knowledge by requiring an understanding of a variety of domains, including the IS audit process, IT governance, systems and infrastructure lifecycle management, IT service delivery and support, protection of information assets, and business continuity and disaster recovery. Those certified are required to demonstrate that they have experience, as well as maintain their knowledge through continuing education in the various domains. ISACA offers conferences, webinars and publications that also broaden the knowledge and understanding of these professionals. ISACA has more than 175 chapters established in over 70 countries, and those chapters provide members with education, resource sharing, advocacy, networking and a host of other benefits on a local level.

The CISA certification has been earned by more than 60,000 professionals since inception and is for the IS audit, control, assurance and/or security professionals who wish to set themselves apart from their peers. Since 1978, the CISA certification has been renowned as the globally recognized achievement for those who control, monitor and assess an organization's information technology and business systems. The technical skills and practices that CISA promotes and evaluates are the building blocks of success in the field. Possessing the CISA designation demonstrates proficiency and is the basis for measurement in the profession. With a growing demand for pros possessing IS audit, control and security skills, CISA has become a preferred certification program by individuals and organizations around the world. CISA certification signifies commitment to serving an organization and the IS audit, control and security industry with distinction.

The CISA cert program provides an external validation for the IT security professional. Employers and peers are assured of the individual's technical knowledge and capabilities.

Finalists 2009
  • (ISC)2
  • GIAC – Global Information Assurance Certification for GIAC – The Global Information Assurance Certification program
  • ISACA for Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) 
  • ISACA for Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)
  • Symantec Corporation for Symantec Certification Program

Get daily email updates

SC Media's daily must-read of the most current and pressing daily news

By clicking the Subscribe button below, you agree to SC Media Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.