CISO Exchange names advisory board

The CISO Exchange, launched by the House Government Reform Committee earlier this year after another dismal IT security report card for federal agencies, on Tuesday named its advisory board.

Board members include: Daniel Galik, CSO, Internal Revenue Service; Dennis Heretick, CISO, Department of Justice; Robert Lentz, CISO, Department of Defense; Jane Scott Norris, CISO, Department of State; Lisa Schlosser, CIO, Department of Housing and Urban Development; and Robert West, CISO, Department of Homeland Security.

The members were introduced at the FOSE government IT conference in Washington, D.C. The advisory board will meet this month while a "full-program" meeting is slated for May, to be attended by federal CISOs, said Steve O'Keefe, executive director of the CISO Exchange.

The CISO Exchange is a public-private partnership that aims to improve federal government information security. O'Keefe said the group is focused on improving the federal IT security report card. The overall score on IT security for 24 agencies, released in February, was a D+.

"The CISO Exchange is designed to move the government forward in its information security posture," O'Keefe said.

The advisory board also includes industry representatives Austin Yerks, president of business development for the federal sector at Computer Sciences Corporation, and Ken Ammon, president of government solutions at NetSec.

The group is funded solely by private industry participants, O'Keefe said.

Vance Hitch, CIO for the Department of Justice and chairman of the cybersecurity and privacy committee for the CIO Council, will chair the CISO Exchange advisory board, together with Melissa Wojciak, staff director of the Government Reform Committee.

Get daily email updates

SC Media's daily must-read of the most current and pressing daily news

By clicking the Subscribe button below, you agree to SC Media Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.