Richard Clarke and Karen Jackson co-chair governor-appointed Va. security commission

Virginia Governor Terry McAuliffe named members of the Virginia Cyber Security Commission on Friday, a group established at the end of February that brings together experts in the public and private sectors to work on strengthening cyber security in the state.

Co-chairing the commission are Richard Clarke, CEO of Good Harbor Security Risk Management, and Karen Jackson, Virginia Secretary of Technology, according to a Friday release, which states that the first meeting will take place on June 11.

The commission is composed of security experts from the public and private sector as well as government officials, including Rhonda Eldridge, Jennifer Bisceglie, Paul Kurtz, Paul Tiao, Barry Horowitz, Andrew Turner, Jeffrey Dodson, Jandria Alexander, Elizabeth Hight, John Wood, Anne Holton, John Harvey, Bill Hazel, Maurice Jones and Brian Moran, according to the release.

The commission is responsible for identifying high risk security issues, providing advice and recommendations relating to Virginia's networks and data, promoting awareness of good cyber habits, and presenting state of the art technologies.

The group will also provide its thoughts on adding cyber security to Virginia's emergency management and disaster response, including carrying out incident response scenarios and restoration plans and coordinating with the federal government, according to the release.

Roughly 500 hours of staff time is needed to support Commission work, totaling roughly $5,000 in costs, according to an Executive Order signed by McAuliffe on Feb. 25, which adds that Commission members are serving without compensation.

Get daily email updates

SC Media's daily must-read of the most current and pressing daily news

By clicking the Subscribe button below, you agree to SC Media Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.