Winners announced at SC Awards Canada

As part of the festivities of this week's second annual SC Congress Canada, our editorial team took time to recognize the country's brightest security stars.

The 2011 SC Awards Canada honor the achievements of groups and individuals striving to protect the privacy and critical data belonging to Canadian businesses and customers.This year, we were pleased to honor the following individuals and companies:




Best Security Team

Enbridge Gas Distribution


Best Information Security Program

BC Hydro Smart Metering & Infrastructure Program

BC Hydro 

Best Information Security Researcher

Nicholas Percoco


Privacy Professional of the Year

Ann Cavoukian


Best Information Security VAR



Financial Services CSO of the Year

Greg Thompson


Health Care CSO of the year

Mark Farrow

Hamilton Health Sciences

Information Security Professional of the Year

Mark Fabro

Lofty Perch

"These individuals and companies are fighting the good fight every day, fighting against cybercrime and leading the Canadian and global security community to new insights and tactics," said Illena Armstrong, editor-in-chief of SC Magazine. "We are honored to recognize their achievements and have them play a part in our most successful SC Congress Canada to date. They are true examples of excellence, shaping the Canadian security landscape now and into the future."

Get daily email updates

SC Media's daily must-read of the most current and pressing daily news

By clicking the Subscribe button below, you agree to SC Media Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.